OpenSUSE on VirtualBox

openSUSE-logo

After some Memorial Day weekend trial and error, I’ve settled on a Linux distribution for my Oracle MapViewer lab. Neither Ubuntu 14.04 nor Fedora 20 performed well under VirtualBox. In the case of Ubuntu, it was the lack of 3D support for Unity, which I think can be fixed by rebuilding the VirtualBox Guest Additions from the kernel source, but I wasn’t able to get VirtualBox to find the source. Based on some other distro instructions I think I just needed to do something like this: “KERN_DIR=/usr/src/kernels/`uname -r`.”

In any case, I had good luck with openSUSE 13.1. Oracle SQL Developer connects to Oracle 12c and the OS performance is good even with both VMs running. Now, my Oracle database and Oracle client environments are both running in virtual machine images that can be moved from one computer to another. More importantly, I can run Java 7 on openSUSE and Java 6 on Ubuntu, my host OS, where I do some customer development.

This illustration depicts the resulting spatial lab environment.spatiallab

Picking a Linux distro took longer than I thought it would. I’m reading to move on now.

Leave a Reply

